Built in 1883 and opposite the marriage trees in the original main street of Raymond Terrace, is King Street Confectionery. The precinct, recognised by Heritage NSW, is one of the last surviving examples of 1800s commercial streetscapes.
During the restoration of the building we uncovered the original sign and a business envelope of the very first business in the building. McLellan’s were the first occupants and were “Hatter & Mercers” before evolving into “Mens & Boys Wear”. The business envelope records their phone number as “26”.
Six floods have entered the building, the last in 1955, and all are recorded on the “flood pole” in the centre of the shop.
The main shopping district relocated to its present site after the devastating “55” flood and the building has seen a myriad of uses and “updates” since that time. During restoration a lowered ceiling was removed and the original ceiling and plaster cornice work were revealed. The ceiling panels were painted a variety of different colours and the green panel has been matched to become our theme colour.
The shop windows are dominated by restored confectionery machines that were sourced from a local confectionery company in Maitland.
The counters and display cases were handmade by the current owners and are predominately hardwood, some recycled from buildings in King Street. Every effort has been made to recreate a true heritage experience.
On display through-out the shop are artefacts that were found within or under the building during the restoration.